Practicing Peace

Infertility ResourcesYoga
March 8, 2022

Last week, we introduced Samadhi — the eighth and final limb of yoga. In the traditional sense, this state is only achieved after achieving the two limbs before it, Dhyana and Dharana. Though, in a more contemporary sense, Samadhi is about finding peace — everlasting peace. Just like everything else in life, Samadhi can be achieved by finding balance — accepting the good and the bad. 

Give this exercise a try:

How did that go?

It’s a practice and may not come easy, and it’s meant to be practiced more than once. Revisit this practice as your life changes and moves. Notice if you had a desire to “change” something. Though the point isn’t to make a change, it’s to hold both the good and the bad. At the same time, it doesn’t mean you can’t make a change. 

The desire to change typically comes by going back to the first two limbs of yoga: Yamas and Niyamas. And the change typically is manifested when we practice the next two: Pranayama and Asana. The next three limbs — Pratyahara, Dharana, and Dhyana — are used to help build that interoceptive awareness, which helps you reach the last limb — Samadhi.

If you would like to deepen your connection to yourself, and more gracefully move through your infertility journey, check out The Paths. We designed the program to meet you where you are, whether that’s just getting started or on your fourth round of IVF. Get the support you need along your family building experience.