The Seven Chakras – An Overview

ChakrasHome Yoga PracticeHow toInfertility Resources
March 31, 2021


Chakra is often translated as wheel or spinning disk, and is typically seen as a spinning circle of energy. Over the coming weeks, we’ll use the Chakras, seven energy centers, as a filter for examining your infertility experience. By doing so, you’ll gain a better understanding of how bringing these areas in your subtle body into balance can create a positive impact on your inner and outer worlds. But first, what are the chakras?

As defined by Anodea Judith, “a chakra is a center of organization that receives, assimilates, and expresses life force energy.” The word chakra translates as ‘wheel’ or ‘disk’ and refers to the seven spinning spheres along the spinal column from the base of the spine to the top of the head. The yoga-based energy centers represent stages of consciousness. When united or yoked, we’re able to heal energy imbalances and take control of our mental and physical health.  

Here’s a brief summary of each chakra:

Muladhara – Root 

It’s red in color and located at the base of the spine or coccyx. The basic rights for this energy center are to be here and to be nourished in all areas of your life. 

Svadhisthana – Sweetness

This chakra is located in your sacral area between your lower abdomen and naval. The color is orange and the basic right is to feel and to have pleasure. 

Manipura – Lustrous Gem

Known as a place for transformation, the third chakra is yellow in color and located between the navel and the base of the sternum. 

Anahata – Unstruck

Your right to love and be loved comes from the fourth chakra. It’s located at the center of the chest or your heart. It’s green in color.

Vissuda – Purification 

The fifth chakra is bright blue in color and located at the throat. The basic rights are to speak and to be heard. 

Ajna – To Know, To Perceive

The sixth chakra is located in the forehead and also known as the third eye. The color is indigo and the basic right is to see. 

Sahasrara – Thousandfold

The seventh chakra is located at the top of the head and is violet (or white). The basic right of this center is to know and to learn. 

Next week, we’ll dive into the 1st chakra — your foundation — in more depth so check back then.


Class Handouts. Chakras and the Emotional Body. (Kathleen Yount and Jen Davis.) Blue Lotus. 8-10 Mar. 2019.

Judith, Anodea. Eastern Body, Western Mind: Psychology and the Chakra System as a Path to the Self. Second ed.,

Random House, 2004.

Blog_Banner Ad (1).jpeg