Sometimes people say the most hurtful things.

April 5, 2022

I used to faint at the prick of a finger or sight of blood. However, after stabbing myself with needles throughout three rounds of infertility treatments, it’s safe to say that I no longer pass out. But I still give the phlebotomist or nurse a heads up just in case I fall over in the chair. Because, after scaring them and myself a time or two, I know to speak up, lol! Today, was no different.

Read More

That’s a wrap!

March 15, 2022

Over the past few months, we’ve offered an overview of the eight limbs of yoga and suggestions for how to incorporate each one into your daily life while facing fertility challenges.

Read More

Practicing Peace

March 8, 2022

Last week, we introduced Samadhi — the eighth and final limb of yoga. In the traditional sense, this state is only achieved after achieving the two limbs before it, Dhyana and Dharana.

Read More

Ultimate Bliss

March 1, 2022

Samadhi is the eighth limb of yoga and it means “bliss” or “pure bliss” sometimes “nirvana” or “enlightenment.” It’s not as unattainable, high, or as pious as it may sound.

Read More

An exploration in obsession

February 22, 2022

Last week, we learned about Dhyana — sustained focus. The difference between Dhayana (the seventh limb) and Dharana (the sixth limb) can be hard to explain, let alone experience.

Read More

7th Limb of Yoga – Dhyana

February 15, 2022

Over the last two weeks, we covered the sixth limb Dharana, which must be achieved before we move into the seventh limb Dhayana. Dhyana is often referred to as “absorption.”

Read More

Let’s Concentrate!

February 8, 2022

Last week we introduced the sixth limb of yoga — Dharana — focus. Concentration seems simple on the surface but as yoga goes it’s more about letting everything else fall away.

Read More

The 6th Limb – Dharana

February 1, 2022

The sixth limb of yoga takes us away from a physical practice and into an internalized practice. The last two weeks we used Pratyahara (the fifth limb) to enhance some senses and reduce the distraction of others. Dharana, the sixth limb, is pointed focus or concentration. This is the start of meditation.

Read More

How to Practice Pratyahara

January 25, 2022

Pratyahara is mostly still a physical practice. You could simply remove/bind the sense or allow it to slowly float into disappearance. Some of the senses are harder to “bind” but you can feel the enhancement, or the diminishing effects, by binding another sense instead. Here are a few practices for each of the senses you can try to incorporate into your daily life.

Read More

The 5th Limb of Yoga — Pratyahara

January 19, 2022

The fifth limb of yoga, Pratyahara — the withdrawal of the senses, is about starting to turn your focus inward. When you can explore your sensed perception at a deeper level, you can more deeply discern what you really feel, want, and need.

Read More